Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Indian National Flag: A Roller Coaster

The story relating to the different stages and landmarks in the evolution of our national flag is indeed inspiring:
1906: Three colors: Saffron with eight stars across, white with Vande Mataram and green with moon to right and sun to left. This flag was proposed by some Indians in England and France who thought of an 'Indian National Flag'. Not recognized in India.
1916: Two colors: Red and green, with five red and four green stripes. Emblem of Great Bear. Union Jack at top left. In vogue during 'Home rule days'.
1921: Three colors: White, green and red, with Charkha across all colors. Sponsored by Mahatma Gandhi at the Bezwada Session of the Indian National Congress (this flag was informally used at all sessions of the Congress till 1931, though not officially accepted/adopted by the Congress).
March, 1931: One colour: Saffron with Charkha at top left. This flag was proposed by a committee appointed by Working Committee after Karachi Congress. This flag was not approved by Working Committee.
August, 1931:Three colors: Saffron, white and green, Charkha in blue color in middle across white strip. Length and breadth in proportion of 3:2. Proposed by Congress Working Committee. Form of Flag suggested by Mahatma Gandhi retained with slight changes in order of colors and position of Chakra. Accepted by AICC officially in Bombay in August 1931.
August 15, 1947: The present tricolor National Flag was adopted. The present day flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya, an Indian freedom fighter. During the National conference of Indian National Congress at Kakinada, Venkayya suggested that India should have a national flag of its own and Mahatma Gandhi liked this proposal. He suggested that Venkayya could come up with a design. During the National conference at Vijayawada, Venkayya proposed a tricolour with an Ashoka Chakra at the middle. Gandhi liked the flag, and the design was later adopted as the National Flag of India. Pingali Venkayya After researching into 30 kinds of flags from all over the world, Pingali conceived the design of a flag which became the forbearer of the Indian national flag. 

The Meaning: The saffron color represents courage and sacrifice; white – truth and purity; green – peace and prosperity; and the Ashok Chakra represents the Laws of Dharma (righteousness).

Note: The above information is collected from internet and represented here as it is. I do not claim the copyright.


Viyoma said...

Thats informative!! Didnt know of it.
Thanks for sharing.

Perry said...

Really it's informative information

Perry said...

It's informative